Friday, August 19, 2011

Texting Drivers in California Should Get their Pockets Ready

The world of texting drivers in California is becoming smaller – for the better. To address the growing problem on auto accidents in California due to distracted driving, the California Senate has approved a proposed bill that will increase the fine for distracted drivers.

According to news reports, the bill only needs the sign of Governor Jerry Brown to pass it into state law. Presently the base fine for texting drivers is $20 but if the governor approves the bill, distracted drivers would be fined with $50 and repeat offenders would penalized with $100 up to $528.

The dangers of texting while driving to drivers and pedestrians cannot be underestimated. According to Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), nearly 5,474 people were involved in fatal crashes involving driver distraction in 2009 alone. The worst thing about distracted driving is that innocent people may be injured or killed due to one’s carelessness.

Certainly the proposed California law cannot totally eliminate texting drivers in the state; however, it can somehow make drivers think twice before using their mobile phones while driving.

To know more on car accidents in California, you may consult with a personal injury lawyer in Los Angeles. Your attorney will help you file a lawsuit and assert compensation for your losses. Contact our toll free number at 1-866-772-2889 or email us at for a free case analysis.